HDR400 Vs HDR600 Vs HDR1000 (Standards Simplified Compared)

Are you also confused by the different terminology among HDRs such as HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000? What are they and how are they different?

In this guide, I’ve compared all three of them based on their technical specs and how they differ visually.

High Dynamic Range, or HDR, is a digital imaging technology that allows for greater luminosity and contrast than traditional digital images. It uses specialized algorithms to capture an image’s full range of tones from the darkest shadows to the brightest highlights, resulting in more vibrant colors and clarity. 

HDR also supports higher color bit depths than regular dynamic range (SDR) images, this allows for smoother transitions between different hues and greater accuracy in representing real-life colors.

HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000 are standards developed by VESA (Video Electronics Standards Association) to measure and specify the performance of displays with High Dynamic Range (HDR) technology. 

These standards define specific requirements for color coverage, peak brightness, average brightness, black level, and color uniformity, among other factors.

Explanation of the three different HDR standards: HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000

HDR400 is the most basic type of High Dynamic Range (HDR) display, providing a limited range of brightness and contrast.

HDR600 offers up to twice the peak brightness and better color accuracy than HDR400 for more realistic images.

Finally, HDR1000 provides an even higher level of contrast and detail than either HDR400 or HDR600 by offering four times the peak brightness levels as well as improved black levels.

All three standards allow TVs to produce brighter whites and deeper blacks while also allowing viewers to enjoy a wider range of colors in their content.


A standard developed by VESA that measures the performance of displays with High Dynamic Range (HDR) technology and establishes minimum requirements for peak brightness, black level, and color volume for a display to be considered HDR400 compliant.

Affordable option compared to other HDR standards.Peak brightness and color coverage are not the best.
Offers decent picture quality with improved brightness and color compared to a standard non-HDR display.


In comparison to HDR400, this standard sets higher requirements for peak brightness, black level, and color volume.

Higher peak brightness and color coverage compared to HDR400.Not the best option in terms of peak brightness or color coverage.
Good balance of cost and image quality.


HDR1000 is the highest standard apart from (HDR1400) for brightness, black levels, and color volume in HDR developed by VESA.

Best picture quality with the highest peak brightness and widest color coverage.The most expensive option among the three main HDR standards.
Perfect for those who require the best image quality.

Comparison of HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000

Brightness comparison

HDR1000 has the highest peak brightness level of 1000 nits, followed by HDR600 with 600 nits, and HDR400 with 400 nits. So, HDR1000 offers the brightest and most vivid image.

Color accuracy comparison

When comparing HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000 for color accuracy, all three displays offer great quality with 10-12 bits of color depth when it comes to color accuracy.

Contrast ratio comparison

The higher the contrast ratio, the better the display is at reproducing the darkest and brightest areas of an image.

HDR1000 has the highest contrast ratio, followed by HDR600 and HDR400. 

Motion handling comparison

All three standards have similar motion-handling capabilities. They all use a feature called “motion smoothing” to reduce motion blur and improve the overall motion handling of the display. However, HDR1000 may have a slight edge as it has better image processing capabilities.

Image Quality8-bit10-bit10-bit
Dynamic Contrast RatioYesYesYes
Peak Luminance400 cd/m2600 cd/m21000 cd/m2
Color GamutExceeds SDRHigher than HDR400Higher than HDR600
Full-Screen FlashNoYesYes
Real-time contrast ratios with local dimmingNoYesYes
Visible increase in color gamutNoYesYes
Tech Specs Compared


  • HDR1400 is the highest standard developed by VESA for professional content creators
  • Offers outstanding local-dimming, high-contrast HDR with advanced specular highlights
  • Peak luminance of 1400 cd/m2, 4x brighter than typical displays
  • Dynamic contrast ratio 3.5X greater than HDR1000
  • The color gamut of 95% DCI-P3 65, the highest among all HDR standards
  • Requires 10-bit image processing
  • Suitable for professional content creators and enthusiasts who demand the best image quality

What Is DCI-P3 in HDR?

DCI-P3 is a color space that was developed by the Digital Cinema Initiatives (DCI) for use in digital cinema. It is a wider color gamut than the traditional sRGB color space used in most consumer displays, which means that it can display a wider range of colors, more vivid and saturated.

When it comes to HDR, DCI-P3 is considered a standard for color representation. So, when a display is said to be 90% DCI-P3 compliant, it means that it can reproduce at least 90% of the colors within the DCI-P3 color space. This is considered a high level of color accuracy, and it’s a requirement for the HDR standards.

In simple terms, 90% DCI-P3 compliance means that the display can produce a wide range of colors and is capable of showing more vivid and saturated images than a standard sRGB display.


In conclusion, HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000 are standards developed by VESA to measure the performance of displays with High Dynamic Range (HDR) technology. Each of these standards has its own set of technical specifications and advantages, making them suitable for different types of users.

To quickly wrap up all three of them, here are the key takeaways:

  • HDR400 is the first in the HDR series and it offers decent picture quality and is a significant step up from the SDR baseline. However, it’s not the best option for those who require the highest level of image quality.
  • HDR600 is a good middle-ground option as it offers true high-contrast HDR with notable specular highlights, double the peak luminance of typical displays, and a visible increase in color gamut compared to HDR400. 
  • HDR1000 is the top-of-the-line standard and offers the best picture quality out of the three main HDR standards. It offers an outstanding local-dimming, high-contrast HDR with advanced specular highlights, peak luminance of 1000 cd/m2, and color coverage of at least 90% of the DCI-P3 color space. It’s perfect for serious movie watchers, gamers, or professionals who need the best image quality, but it’s also the most expensive option.

In general, as the standard moves up HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000, the image quality improves with increased peak luminance, wider color gamut and dynamic contrast ratio, in simple terms the difference in peak brightness and black level is what makes the big difference between HDR400, HDR600, and HDR1000.